Grading Standards13 min read

Card Centering Tolerances by Grade: PSA, BGS, CGC, SGC, TAG, ACE

Every official card centering tolerance by grade in one table: PSA, BGS, CGC, SGC, TAG and ACE, front and back, verified August 2026, and how to read it.

By

A card shop display case with rows of graded cards, softly blurred

Every major grading company publishes a centering tolerance for most of its grades, and they do not agree. For the top label, BGS Pristine 10, CGC Pristine 10 and SGC 10 Pristine ask for 50/50 on the front; TAG Pristine asks for ~51/49; PSA 10, CGC Gem Mint 10, SGC 10 Gem and TAG Gem Mint 10 all sit at approximately 55/45; BGS 9.5 Gem Mint is 55/45 both ways; ACE Gem Mint 10 only needs better than 60/40. One grade down, PSA 9, CGC 9 and SGC 9 are 60/40, BGS 9 stays at 55/45 front, TAG 9 is ~60/40, ACE 9 is 65/35.

Backs differ even more: a PSA 10 or CGC Gem Mint 10 back may be 75/25, a BGS 9.5 back must be 60/40 or better, a BGS Pristine back 55/45, a TAG Gem Mint back ~70/30 for sports and ~65/35 for TCG, and SGC publishes no back figure at all.

The table below puts every published figure side by side, grade by grade, front and back, taken from each company's official standards page and verified in August 2026. After it: where each company's wording is ambiguous, how to read the table for your own card, and why the same card can be a 10 at one company and a 9 at another on centering alone.

The master table: centering tolerance by grade, every grader

Front / back, as published. "~" means the company itself writes "approximately" or uses a tilde. "—" means no figure is published for that grade. Grades are aligned by number; where a company has no grade at that level the cell reads "no grade." BGS "both ways" means the figure applies to left/right and top/bottom independently. Where a TAG cell shows a single figure, the rubric publishes a front figure only for that grade.

Grade levelPSA (front / back)BGS (front / back)CGC (front / back)SGC (front)TAG (front / back sports / back TCG)ACE (front / back)
10 Pristine / Black Labelno grade50/50 / 55/4550/50 / —50/50~51/49 / ~54.5/45.5 / ~52/48no grade
10 Gem Mint~55/45 / 75/25no grade (10 is Pristine)~55/45 / 75/2555/45~55/45 / ~70/30 / ~65/35better than 60/40 / better than 60/40
9.5no grade55/45 both ways / 60/40— (Mint+, no ratio)— (Mint+, no ratio)no gradeno grade
9 Mint~60/40 / 90/1055/45 both ways / 70/3060/40 / 90/10 (sports and non-sports)60/40~60/40 / ~90/10 / ~75/2565/35 / 70/30
8.5half-point, centering focushalf-pointno figure65/35~62.5/37.5 / ~95/5 / ~85/15no grade
8 NM-MT~65/35 / 90/1060/40 both ways / 80/2065/35 / — (sports and non-sports)65/35~65/35 / — / ~95/570/30 / 75/25
7.5half-pointhalf-point65/35 (sports and non-sports)70/30~67.5/32.5 / — / —no grade
7 NM~70/30 / 90/1065/35 both ways / 90/1070/30 / — (sports and non-sports)70/30~70/30 / — / —75/25 / 80/20
6.5half-pointhalf-pointno figureno grade~72.5/27.5no grade
6 EX-MT80/20 / 90/1070/30 both ways / 95/575/25 / — (sports and non-sports)75/25~75/2580/20 / 80/20
5.5half-pointhalf-pointno figureno grade~77.5/22.5no grade
5 EX85/15 / 90/1075/25 both ways / 95/5no figure80/20~80/2080/20 / 80/20
4.5half-pointhalf-point85/15 (sports and non-sports)no grade~82.5/17.5no grade
4 VG-EX85/15 / 90/1080/20 both ways / 100/0no figure85/15~85/1580/20 / 80/20
3.5half-pointhalf-point90/10no grade~87.5/12.5no grade
3 VG90/10 / 90/1085/15 both ways / 100/0no figure90/10~90/1085/15 / 85/15
2.5half-pointhalf-pointno figureno grade~92.5/7.5no grade
2 Good90/10 / 90/1090/10 both ways / 100/0 or offcutno figure90/10~95/585/15 / 85/15
1.5 Fair~90/10 / ~90/10no grademay be miscut90/10~98.33/1.67no grade
1 Poornot stated100/0 or offcut, front or backno figureno figuremay show a sliver of border, not miscut85/15 / 85/15

Sources, in order: PSA grading standards page; Beckett grading scale; CGC Cards grading scale; SGC grading scale; TAG rubric and Pristine 10 help article; ACE grading scale. All checked August 2026. If a company edits its page, the page wins over this table, so recheck before a large submission.

How to read the table for your own card

  1. Measure first. Left/right and top/bottom on the front, then the back, from card edge to the outer printed border. The free card centering calculator does this from a photo in the browser and maps the result to each company's lines; the procedure by hand is in how to measure card centering at home.
  2. Take the worst front ratio and the worst back ratio. PSA says centering is "designated as the percent of difference at the most off-center part of the card," TAG's Pristine rule is a "single measurement," and BGS writes "both ways." Nobody averages the two axes.
  3. Find the highest row where both your front and your back pass for the company you are sending to. That row is your centering ceiling. Everything else about the card (corners, edges, surface) can only hold the grade there or pull it lower.
  4. Check the wording. If the row you passed is marked "~," you are inside an approximate figure and a point or two of slack may exist; if it is a bare figure, assume it is a line.

Worked example. A card measures front 56/44 top to bottom, 52/48 left to right, back 68/32 top to bottom, 55/45 left to right. Worst front is 56/44; worst back is 68/32.

  • PSA: 56/44 is one point past "approximately 55/45"; the back 68/32 is inside 75/25. Centering ceiling is a PSA 10 if the grader reads "approximately" generously, a PSA 9 if not. PSA's own text also says a 5% leeway applies to front centering for cards grading 7 or better, so this card is comfortably in the zone where the rest of the card and eye appeal decide.
  • BGS: 56/44 fails 55/45 both ways for 9.5, and fails 55/45 for BGS 9 as well; 60/40 both ways is the BGS 8 line. The back 68/32 passes BGS 9's 70/30. The centering subgrade lands at 8 or 8.5 on paper (Beckett says half-point grades share characteristics of the levels above and below); how that feeds the final grade depends on Beckett's lowest-subgrade weighting, explained in BGS centering standards.
  • CGC: the same approximately 55/45 and 75/25 lines as PSA for Gem Mint 10, so the same one-point question. CGC 9 is 60/40 and 90/10 for sports and non-sports cards. See CGC centering standards.
  • SGC: 56/44 is one point past the 55/45 Gem line; SGC 9 at 60/40 is the safe reading. No back figure is published.
  • TAG: 56/44 is outside ~55/45 for Gem Mint 10; ~60/40 for Mint 9 is the fit. The back 68/32 is inside ~70/30 for sports Gem Mint but outside ~65/35 for TCG Gem Mint, which does not matter here because the front already decided it. See TAG grading centering explained.
  • ACE: the published 10 line is centering "less than a 60/40 split." The 56/44 front passes; the 68/32 back does not. ACE's 9 line is 65/35 front and 70/30 rear, so the back caps this card at ACE 9 on centering.

Same card, six companies, and the centering ceiling ranges from a possible 10 to a clear 9 depending only on the published line. That is the point of keeping the table in one place.

Where each company is ambiguous, and how to handle it

PSA: "approximately," an eye-appeal footnote and a 5% leeway

PSA writes "approximately" on its 10, 9, 8, 7 and 1.5 lines, adds a footnote that "a small variance may be permitted on occasion based on the card's overall eye appeal," and states that "a 5% leeway is given to the front centering minimum standards for cards which grade PSA 7 or better." Its example: a card measuring 60/40 automatically meets the PSA 9 front standard, and one measuring 65/35 "may be deemed to meet" it if the eye appeal is good. PSA's 10 line moved from the 60/40 older guides still quote to the 55/45 on the page now; secondary sources place the change in early 2025. Full breakdown, including OC and MC qualifiers, in PSA centering standards explained.

BGS: "both ways," subgrades and a separate 10 tier

Beckett's figures are stated flatly, and "both ways" means the ratio must hold on each axis. BGS has two 10s: Pristine (gold label) and Black Label, both 50/50 front and 55/45 back; Beckett says the only difference is that a gold label Pristine allows one small imperfection under magnification resulting in one 9.5 and three 10 subgrades. Centering is one of four subgrades, and Beckett's official explanation is that the final grade "is not a simple average of the four subgrades… the lowest grade is the most heavily weighted." So a BGS centering tolerance is a tolerance for the centering subgrade, not directly for the final number. Note also that BGS 9 keeps the front at 55/45 and only loosens the back (70/30), which makes BGS 9 front centering as strict as BGS 9.5.

CGC: numbers scoped to "sports and non-sports"

CGC's Gem Mint 10 line is "approximately 55/45" front and "not to exceed 75/25" on the reverse, and Pristine 10 is "50/50" with no back figure. From Mint 9 down, CGC's published ratios are explicitly for "sports and non-sports cards"; its TCG grade descriptions at 9 and below give no ratio. CGC also has grades (Mint+ 9.5, Near Mint+ 7.5, VG/Ex+ 4.5, Very Good+ 3.5) that some other companies do not, which is why the table has CGC figures at 7.5 and 4.5 but blanks at 5 and 4. Legacy note: what used to be CGC Trading Cards Gem Mint 9.5 maps to today's CGC Cards Gem Mint 10.

SGC: front only, no "tweeners"

SGC's page says it "uses a scale which eliminates the grades known as 'tweeners'" and that its descriptions "are guidelines." It publishes one centering figure per grade with no separate back tolerance anywhere. SGC also has both a 10 Pristine (50/50) and a 10 Gem (55/45), plus an 8.5 at 65/35 and a 7.5 at 70/30 that share their figure with the whole grade below. See SGC centering standards.

TAG: the finest ladder, split backs, no 9.5

TAG grades on a 1000-point scale mapped to the 10-point system and publishes a centering figure for every half grade from 10 Pristine (~51/49, 990–1000 points) down to 1.5 (~98.33/1.67). Its back tolerances differ by category: Gem Mint backs are ~70/30 for sports and ~65/35 for TCG; Mint 9 backs are ~90/10 sports and ~75/25 TCG; Pristine backs are ~54.5/45.5 sports and ~52/48 TCG. TAG has no 9.5, on the reasoning that cards exceeding its Mint standard are Gem Mint and cards exceeding Gem Mint are Pristine. TAG describes machine-captured measurement reviewed by human graders, so its tildes reflect rounding in the rubric more than grader latitude.

ACE: loosest at the top, most transparent about method

ACE's Gem Mint 10 needs centering "less than a 60/40 split," then 65/35 front and 70/30 rear for a 9, 70/30 and 75/25 for an 8, 75/25 and 80/20 for a 7, 80/20 both sides for 6 through 4, and 85/15 both sides for 3 through 1. ACE states it measures "using 1/1000th of a millimeter accuracy measurements" and reports left, right, top and bottom percentages for front and back. It also publishes an OC rule: if the centering grade is two or more grades below the overall grade, OC is appended. Details in ACE grading centering standards.

Same measurement, different top grade: the crosswalk in brief

Reading across the top rows gives you a quick centering-only equivalence. These are ceilings from the published figures; they say nothing about corners, edges, surface or market value.

Your worst front ratioPSABGSCGCSGCTAGACE
50/50 dead even10Pristine 10 possible (back 55/45 needed)Pristine 10 possible10 PristinePristine possible (back ~54.5/45.5 sports or ~52/48 TCG)10
51/49109.5 (back 60/40 needed)Gem Mint 1010 GemPristine possible (~51/49 single measurement)10
52/48 to 55/45109.5 (back 60/40 needed)Gem Mint 1010 GemGem Mint 10 (back ~70/30 sports or ~65/35 TCG)10
56/44 to 59/41~10 on discretion, else 98 (60/40 both ways line) on centering~Gem Mint on discretion, else 99Mint 910 (better than 60/40)
60/40989999 (65/35 line)
61/39 to 65/358, or 9 with leeway and eye appeal788.5 or 88.5 or 89
66/34 to 70/307677.5 or 77.5 or 78

Two cautions. First, on the 56/44 to 59/41 row, PSA's "approximately" plus its stated 5% leeway is the only reason a 10 is listed as possible; collectors report it happens, but it is not the published line. Second, BGS figures describe the centering subgrade, and Beckett's final grade is pulled toward the lowest subgrade, so a BGS "8" centering subgrade does not mean the slab will say 8. The full equivalence discussion, including what each label tends to be worth, is in PSA 10 vs BGS 9.5 vs CGC 10 vs TAG 10: the centering crosswalk.

Why the back column matters more than people think

The most common surprise in the table is how much the back tolerances differ. PSA and CGC allow a 75/25 back on a Gem Mint 10, and PSA then holds the back at 90/10 from 9 all the way down to 4. BGS wants a 55/45 back for any 10 and 60/40 for a 9.5. TAG's back figures tighten in steps and differ between sports and TCG. SGC publishes none.

Why backs are looser in general: back designs are usually lower contrast and a slab shows the front, so a shifted back is less visible and matters less for eye appeal. Why they still matter: a back outside the figure is a published reason to miss the grade. A Pokémon card with a 53/47 front and an 80/20 back fails PSA's 10 back line of 75/25 outright. The same card fails BGS 9.5 by 20 points on the back. Measure the back before you decide where to send a card. More in does back centering matter?.

Millimeters behind the ratios

Because all of these are ratios, the same published line is physically tighter on a thin border. On an English Pokémon card with roughly 2.5 mm side borders (5.0 mm combined), 55/45 means 2.75 mm vs 2.25 mm: a 0.5 mm difference. On a card with 1.5 mm borders (3.0 mm combined), 55/45 means 1.65 mm vs 1.35 mm: a 0.3 mm difference. And 50/50 for a BGS Black Label or CGC Pristine is, in practice, a difference smaller than you can see, which is why those labels are rare. For tables of each ratio on common border widths, see what 55/45, 60/40, 65/35 and 70/30 actually mean in millimeters, and for the full reference pages the grading standards guide.

Bottom line

  • Top-label front lines: 50/50 at BGS Pristine, CGC Pristine and SGC Pristine; ~51/49 at TAG Pristine; ~55/45 at PSA 10, CGC Gem Mint 10, SGC 10 Gem and TAG Gem Mint; 55/45 both ways at BGS 9.5; better than 60/40 at ACE 10.
  • Back lines at the top vary from 55/45 (BGS Pristine) to 75/25 (PSA 10, CGC Gem Mint 10); SGC publishes none; TAG splits sports and TCG.
  • Use the worst axis, front and back separately, and find the highest row where both pass; that is your centering ceiling at that company.
  • "Approximately" (PSA, CGC Gem Mint) and PSA's 5% leeway are the only published sources of slack; BGS, SGC, TAG and ACE state figures as lines.
  • The same card can be a centering 10 at one company and a 9 at another; check the table before choosing where to submit, and recheck the official page before a large order.

Frequently asked questions

What centering tolerance do you need for a 10?

It depends on the company. PSA's published Gem Mint 10 line is approximately 55/45 front and 75/25 back. BGS Pristine 10 is 50/50 front and 55/45 back, while BGS 9.5 Gem Mint is 55/45 both ways front and 60/40 back. CGC Gem Mint 10 is approximately 55/45 front and 75/25 back, and CGC Pristine 10 is 50/50. SGC 10 Gem is 55/45 and SGC 10 Pristine is 50/50. TAG Gem Mint 10 is roughly 55/45 front with a 70/30 sports or 65/35 TCG back, and TAG Pristine is roughly 51/49. ACE Gem Mint 10 is better than 60/40.

Which grading company has the strictest centering standard?

For the absolute top label, BGS Pristine 10, CGC Pristine 10 and SGC 10 Pristine all ask for 50/50 on the front, and TAG Pristine asks for roughly 51/49 as a single measurement. At the Gem Mint level, PSA, CGC, SGC and TAG all publish approximately 55/45 on the front; BGS 9.5 is 55/45 both ways. ACE is the loosest at the top with better than 60/40 for a 10. Backs vary more: BGS 9.5 needs 60/40, PSA and CGC allow 75/25.

Is the centering tolerance the same for sports cards and Pokémon cards?

Mostly yes, with two published exceptions. CGC's numeric centering ratios below Gem Mint 10 are stated for sports and non-sports cards; its TCG grade descriptions do not give ratios. TAG publishes different back tolerances for sports and TCG: for example a TAG Gem Mint 10 back is about 70/30 for sports and 65/35 for TCG. PSA, BGS and SGC publish one set of numbers for all cards.

Do all graders publish a back centering tolerance?

No. PSA, BGS, CGC Gem Mint 10 and Mint 9, TAG and ACE publish back figures. SGC's official scale gives no separate back tolerance at any grade, and CGC does not state a back figure for Pristine 10 or for most grades below 9. Where a back figure is missing in the table, the company has not published one, not that the back is ignored.

What does 'approximately' mean in PSA and CGC centering standards?

PSA writes approximately on its 10, 9, 8, 7 and 1.5 centering lines and adds that a small variance may be permitted at the grader's discretion based on eye appeal. CGC writes approximately on its Gem Mint 10 line. Practically it means a card one or two points outside the figure is not automatically excluded, but you should not plan on it. BGS, SGC and TAG state their figures without that word, and TAG and ACE describe machine measurement.

My card measures 57/43. Which company gives it the best label?

On centering alone, 57/43 is outside the published 55/45 Gem Mint line at PSA, CGC, SGC and TAG and outside BGS 9.5, but inside ACE's better-than-60/40 line for a 10 and inside the 5% leeway zone PSA describes for cards grading 7 or better. Realistically it is a PSA 9 or CGC 9 front, a BGS 9 centering subgrade, a TAG Mint 9, and a possible ACE 10. Whether that matters depends on the rest of the card and the market for each label.

Sources & further reading

#centering-tolerance#grading-standards#psa#bgs#cgc#sgc#tag#ace#comparison